n=1: The Self Experiment sees benefits, downsides to walking goal

This month, n=1: The Self Experiment has pledged to take 10,000 steps a day — or embarrass herself trying. Read how she fared during the second week of her health journey.

A big benefit of nightly walks: This guy falls asleep and stays asleep.

A big benefit of nightly walks: This guy falls asleep and stays asleep.

Well, another week has gone by of this self-experiment. In reviewing last week’s entry, I realized that I had focused on what I looked like to others, so this week I’m going to be a little introspective and talk about how I’ve been feeling. Usually, these are the kind of conversations my husband hates.

Luckily for you all, a relationship discussion is not in today’s recap. What I mean by feelings is this: I feel tired this week. Really tired. I am a nursing mother, so maybe the extra 300-400 calories a day that the walking burns (according to my iDevice) is tipping the balance from “healthy” to “draining.” I don’t know if I should continue—holy smokes, I weighed myself and I lost three pounds in two weeks!

Well, never mind then, I’ll keep at it.

In all seriousness, I guess you can actually lose weight from walking a little more than usual. I haven’t changed my diet (except to stop drinking the green monster smoothies in the morning because that is so last month), or exercise routine, so (in my completely unscientific opinion) it must be the walking.

As I monitor my feelings of fatigue over the next week, I also note the nice parts about walking at night:

nightblooming

Night-blooming cereus: You don’t see these whizzing by in a car.

1. It is cooler outside than in the house.

2. I can listen to my podcasts and my music.

3. I get to see things I often miss, in the daytime and while driving, like night-blooming cereus (see photo evidence)! Usually when I spot them, they are looking deflated and sad in the morning light.

4. I’ve got a walking partner (check out the cute guy in the buggy).

5. My walking partner falls asleep. And stays asleep.

Let me know if you’re walking, too, and if you are running into challenges. Post below or on Facebook or Twitter.

About the Self Experiment: In scientific research, n=1 refers to a trial where there is only one test subject. Across the world, many people have taken this idea and applied it to running behavioral experiments on themselves. You might also see it listed as self-tracking or self-quantification (http://quantifiedself.com). Whatever the name, it’s about tracking your behaviors over time and seeing what happens when you make changes.

MeredithEnosMeredith Desha Enos, Being808′s n=1: The Self Experiment blogger, is a Honolulu-based writer, mother, wife, and putterer. She enjoys gardening, aquaponics, and being active with her family. Meredith works in online education at Kamehameha Schools, and is into new and great ideas and adventures. You probably know her from somewhere, or she’s friends with your cousin.

Leave a Reply

