5 questions with … U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard

Rep. Tulsi Gabbard Official PhotoU.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard took a quick break from the campaign trail recently to chat with Being808 about how she stays healthy.

Gabbard, who is running for re-election to represent Hawaii’s second congressional district, told us she likes to mix up her workouts to keep them interesting and always tries to make time for surfing when she’s in the islands.

What does your go-to workout entail?

I start my day with hatha yoga and yoga meditation — ideal, because I can easily do it when I’m home, or on the road. I also enjoy intense workouts with some of my colleagues when I’m in Washington, D.C., that are made up of a combination of cardio, full body conditioning, fast-twitch, and muscle strengthening exercises.

What’s your favorite outdoor activity and why?

Surfing. As soon as I land back in Hawaii and get off the plane, my first stop is a quick dip in the ocean. When I’m home and doing my work in Hawaii, I make it a priority to paddle out for at least two to three dawn patrol surf sessions per week. It’s a refreshing and inspiring way to start the day, and gives me clarity as I hit the road to visit each of the islands in the state.

What’s your favorite place in the islands to relax and de-stress?

This is a very hard question because I don’t have a favorite!  Each of our islands have special and unique things about them, and I love them all. It’s true! I am really grateful that I get the opportunity to visit each of our islands as often as I can. I always make new friends and fall in love with our islands all over again.

Tulsi Surfing_5What’s your favorite healthy dish and how were you introduced to it?

As a lifelong vegetarian, I do my best to maintain a healthy diet and eat plenty of fruits, veggies, and drink lots of water. My all-time favorite is a traditional Samoan dish that my mom has made since I was a kid, called fa’alifu. You can make it with taro or ulu (breadfruit), along with coconut milk, onions, and a few spices — delicious!

What healthy saying, mantra, or motto do you try to live by?

I truly believe in the words of Mahatma Gandhi when he said, “The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.”  I’m motivated to stay physically, mentally, and spiritually healthy so that every morning when I wake up, I’m excited to take on the day and ready to do my very best to be of service to God and to others.

Leave a Reply

