A pregnancy pledge: Indulge (in moderation) and make time for me

pregnant 5

Blogger Charisma Taylor is pledging to stay fit while pregnant. She’s expecting her second child, and says she’s indulging her cravings — just not too much.

Maintaining a healthy weight during pregnancy is important to the health of the mother — and the baby. Pregnant women who are overweight or obese use more medications, get more ultrasounds, and are more likely to deliver by Cesarean section than women within the normal weight range. Plus, children whose moms are overweight or obese are more likely to be obese themselves.

All that said, not gaining too much weight during pregnancy sometimes seems impossible. Raging pregnancy hormones plus an ever-expanding belly trigger an insatiable appetite. There’s also confusion about how much baby weight is just right for each woman.

We wanted to learn more about keeping fit during pregnancy so we turned to (pregnant) blogger Charisma Taylor, who’s expecting her second child. Here’s what she had to share:

I have never enjoyed food more than when I am pregnant. Every dish tastes amazing to me. As I eat my meals, I think to myself, “Wow this is really good!” “I’ve been missing out.” “I want more.” Not only do I enjoy true gluttony, I also allow myself the freedom of creative cooking, also known as food cravings.

IMG_0261

(Above and below): Blogger Charisma Taylor works out at the gym, something she says she’s committed to doing throughout her pregnancy.

When I was pregnant with my first born, I craved ranch Corn Nuts with chocolate milk, fried chicken and waffles topped with ice cream and Chef Boyardee beef ravioli, cold, straight out of the can. Needless to say all that eating caught up to me. I gained almost 70 pounds.

After my son was born, I started to make small changes in my daily routine in an effort to loss the excess weight. I tried to watch what I ate and attempted to exercise daily. It was a constant struggle for me to find the right balance between caring for my new baby, caring for my husband and caring for myself. As a new mom, I felt I should be spending all my free time with my son and not so much time on a treadmill. I think that’s why it took several years for me to lose the added IMG_0286weight that was so easy to gain in the first place.

Now that I am pregnant with my second child, six years later, I pledge to do things a little different. I’ve learned my lesson the hard way.

First, I will not deny myself. If I want to, I will eat a Whopper with cheese, Slim Jim’s and bananas, lumpia mixed with cottage cheese and Tapatio or a jalapeno bagel with strawberry cream cheese topped with a slice of tomato. But, and this is a big but, I won’t eat massive quantities of whatever it is I’m craving that day.

Isn’t it medically necessary to gain 25 to 35 pounds during pregnancy? Well, then I’m going to aim for that. 

Second, I will continue going to the gym. I may not be able to run, but I can participate in water aerobics and cycling classes.

Lastly, I will periodically do something special for myself, something I didn’t do with my first pregnancy. With so many changes physically and hormonally, I think it’s important to have some much needed “me time.” So, I promise to treat myself to a manicure or pedicure, massage or maybe some retail therapy. Ala Moana Center, here I come!

charismamug

 

Charisma Taylor is a customer relations representative at HMSA. When she’s not at the beach hanging out with her husband and young son or training for a run, you’ll find her in the kitchen cooking Mexican food. Words she lives by: “A body in motion will stay in motion, while a body at rest will remain at rest.”

 

One comment

  • So cute Charisma! I fondly remember the days of non-stop eating with my firstborn and gained 50 pounds, then I put on 30 pounds with my second as I was also a little more mindful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

